21.9 C
Monday, May 27, 2024

Top Honours for Those Who Serve

The Queensland Fire and Emergency Services (QFES) and Queensland Police Service (QPS) on Monday presented an array of awards to officers at the Joint Award ceremony at the Cairns Regional Council Reception rooms. Officers and staff members were recognised with awards for their outstanding service and contribution to the community in front of senior officers, colleagues and family members at the Cairns Regional Council Civic Reception rooms. 

The award recipients were acknowledged for their contribution to their respective organisations, with many sharing this special day with their loved ones. QPS Deputy Commissioner Mark Wheeler and Acting Assistant Commissioner Chris Hodgman presented awards to 12 long-serving far northern QPS members. Acting Chief Superintendent Rhys Newton was acknowledged with the Queensland Police Service 40-year clasp and the National Emergency Medal for his work during the North Queensland Floods in 2019. 

Detective Superintendent Sonia Smith received the QPS 30 year medal with AAssistant Commissioner Hodgman and ADeputy Commissioner Wheeler

Senior Sergeant Andrew Cowie and Sergeant Andrew Ibell both received the Queensland Police Service Medal 35-year clasp. Detective Superintendent Sonia Smith, Senior Sergeant Matt Stevens, Sergeant Allison Hallmark and Senior Constable Lesley Montgomery all received their 30-year clasp for the Queensland Police Service Medal, whilst Police Liaison Officer Gaylene Patterson, Senior Constable Brendon Potter and Senior Constable Melanie Wood received their 15-year clasps. 

Detective Senior Constable Jackson received the Queensland Police Service Medal, and Sergeant Anthony Williams received the National Medal First Clasp.

Keep up to date with the latest news

Share on:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here


Latest Articles